Views from the Rust Belt

Attached is an article featuring viewpoints from the area where Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Ohio meet. I have spent a great deal of time in this area as my wife went to college in Steubenville – we are there probably once every two years or so. I can tell you this is an area that is extremely depressed, relative to even a place like Toledo – think Youngstown. Basically a hollowed out shell of its former self, some plants still have lit smokestacks, but capacity runs at probably around 1/3 of what it was in its heyday. I am amazed that people in this area still remain so hopeful, but this article features some folks who have a true belief in the power of our President to arrest the decline and rebuild the economy.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090907/ap_on_go_pr_wh/obama_the_bridge

Of course, I have a somewhat more optimistic view of the future of the Rust Belt, which I will get into over time.

– Jack

Comments are closed.